The silent battle inside my head in finding my dream job…

I have this dual going on inside my head.  Or is it a dual between my heart and my head?  I don’t know, but I felt the need to write about it.

I have applied for several different positions at several different cruise lines, and at some point or another, the response is exactly the same from the recruiters: “We have other candidates who are stronger for the position.”

On the flip side, I know that each and every position I have applied for, I can do the job for the most part, and I am willing to learn the part which I am not able to do yet.

The question is, where am I failing to convince the recruiters of this?  I know what my capabilities are, I know that I am a fast learner and that I can do just about anything I put my mind to, but I also know that I do not apply for positions that I don’t know for sure I will not be successful in.  Why would I set myself up for failure?

Over the weekend, my mom saw that I was becoming disheartened by the repeated failures, and her wise words to me were: “It means the time is not right, and it is not yet meant to be.”

That gave me the encouragement and confidence to keep on going at it.  My logic says that at some point, someone will see the potential in me that I know I have – and I am not being over confident or arrogant, I know myself, and I know my capabilities better than anyone else, and I know that I would do well in the jobs I apply for.

I also remain thankful that I am not unemployed at the moment, as I can imagine that this process must be ten times worse when you are hard up for a job.

Nobody has ever achieved anything by quitting, so I intend carrying on and working at achieving this dream of mine.  I WILL  succeed!

 

Please share your comments!

