Running…

I have never been a big fan of road running.  My father used to do it A LOT and it has just never been something that interested me.

In an effort to lose weight and get fitter, I started going to the gym again about a year ago, and strangely, the exercise that I enjoy the most is treadmill running!

Last night I realised that all this time, I had been running away from things.  I have been running away from things all my life.  Running from my past.  Running from my failed relationships. Running from my poor state of finances.

On Saturday evening, I watched a movie called The Founder, recommended to me by my cousin.  Without giving the story away, it’s about how McDonalds started, and the story behind how it went global.  I learned a few lessons from the movie, one of which is that persistence trumps everything else in order to succeed.

I have been disappointed that the last two months of regular and hard gymming, had not resulted in major weight loss, but what I have realised is that I am becoming fitter.  My resting heart rate has dropped from 75 to 62.  I also checked my blood pressure, and that has come down to normal levels without medication.  The persistence in working out has paid off: perhaps not exactly in the ways I wanted it to, but in other ways, and probably better ways!

Last night, while achieving my 5km personal best run, I realised that I was no longer running away from things, but running towards better things.  I was running towards becoming a healthier person, and I decided that I was going to start running towards the positive and good things and my future, instead of running away from the negative things and my past.

I am running towards financial freedom.  I am running towards a new career (my dream one…).  I am running towards being a success and I am running towards making a difference in this world!

Please share your comments!

