Just a few more steps!

A lot has happened (in the right direction) since I last wrote.

About three weeks ago, I got an email from the Disney recruiter I have been speaking to and had my interviews with, that she had some good news for me, and wanted to call me.  I obviously responded right away, and within minutes I was on the phone with her: There is a position available for me!

This meant that I had to do some running around, doing my medical examination, getting a police clearance that I don’t have a criminal record, other background checks etc.  All of this has been done, I have received my medical (fit for duty) certificate back from the doctor, and sent it off to Disney for review.

Once that has been done, I should receive my Confirmation of Employment, which will then mean I can make my appointment with the US Embassy for my Visa interview.

I have also received my joining date, and which ship I will be based on.  Given that there are no issues with my medical, and that I get my Visa, I will be joining Disney Cruise Line on 27 June 2018!!!  How exciting is that!?!  And the cherry on top: I will be working on the Disney Fantasy, the ship that I saw being launched, sailed on across the Atlantic, and saw being christened in New York.

As you can imagine, I am super excited, and cannot wait to start my new career with DCL.  As with any new job, I am a little anxious, but I am confident that it will soon pass, and that I will make a huge success of it.

I can finally say that my dream is coming true, and who better than with the company that is renowned for making magic happen, and making dreams come true: Disney!  I am ready to live my dream!  DCL, see you soon!

I have been considering how I will continue with this blog once I am there.  Although internet is available on board, it is pricey, but I am more concerned about having the time to write.  One possible solution would be to do hand written journal entries, which I can transcribe and post when I am on leave/off contract.  I will really only know once I am there, and will see how things work out, but I do intend continuing with this blog.  Perhaps I should consider changing the name of the blog as well – another bridge I will cross once I am there.

I will give an update again on how the preparation is going a little closer to departure.

Please share your comments!